I’m that mother

I’m that mother…

 

The one who sneaks the chocolates out of your party bag to eat it; enough sweets and chocolates were eaten by you at the party.

The one who says it’s already bedtime when there’s actually still 30 min to go; but you can’t read the time yet, so you won’t know.

The one who rolls over and makes as if I’m asleep just so that you would stay quietly in bed (or go back to sleep for a bit) over the weekend, as I’m not so enthusiastic about getting up at 5:30 am.

The one who sings out loud the made up song of how much I adore my sweet boy, right in the middle of the mall.

The one who will only show you pictures of cakes for your birthday, based on the ones I think I can make.

The one who uses Father Christmas and the gift list, as a way to get you to eat your veggies.

The one who will laugh when you get stuck in an awkward position and can’t get out, before I help you out.

The one who won’t stand for rudeness and being unappreciative.

 

But, I’m also;

The one who prefers buying new toys and clothes for both boys, with money that was given to me, to spend on ME.

The one who floods my social media pages with photos of my kids’ shenanigans and joy.

The one who will laugh at your silliness even though you didn’t mean for it to be funny.

The one who will run after you to kiss you goodbye, until the day you can outrun me.

The one who will daily and hourly teach you how you should behave so that one day you will be the gentleman this world needs.

The one who teaches you to get up once you’ve fallen and to try again.

The one who tells you that you can do it over and over again, even if you don’t believe it yourself.

The one who will encourage you to take the jump off the 2 meter wall, once you are ready to do so.

The one who will be your biggest fan and cheerleader, next to the sport’s field or swimming pool.

The one who looks at your drawing in absolute amazement, even though I cannot for the life of me figure out how you see a crocodile in there. Van Gogh would be proud of you.

The one who hates being tickled, but will fake the laugh, just for you.

The one who will play endless peek-a-boo with you as you find it so funny.

The one who will make 2 spaghetti bolognaise’s so that yours doesn’t have the spices and herbs in that you don’t like.

The one who goes into a frantic panic and will drop everything to come when you are crying.

The one who will suffer the pain of sore and swollen boobs, just so that I know you get the best start in life.

The one who will fight any and every battle to ensure you get the right and fair treatment.

The one who will carry your struggles, pain and fear; even if I have no more energy to carry my own.

The one who will give you the last bit of money to do something, just so that you are not the only one not doing it.

The one who will sing you “your” song when you need to hear it.

The one who will give you a life long sense of security and love, a safe haven and a place where you can be just what and who you want to be.

I am that one!

dsc_0608

Leave a Reply

